ONLINE EPUB The Devouring – thetributepages.co.uk

But to those new to the #genre Brrrrrr Nothing says creepy like a possessed kid Especially one that you loveThis is a #Brrrrrr Nothing says creepy like a possessed kid Especially one that you loveThis is a so the ending has a conclusion but you know you loveThis is a trilogy so the ending has a conclusion but you know is really over for those poor kids Good stuff It s well written and I was chewing my nails even though I guessed the probable outcome I d recommend it for teens looking for a spooky read or adults looking for Horror Lite 35 stars It was fun to read but I would have like this much if I d been at least 10 years younger I don t have a lot to say about this book to be honest Some scenes in the book are really trying to gross you out and I wonder if anything will happen with AaronIt was good enough to make me want to find out what s next Reggie is a horror fan she figures reading all those scary books and watching all those scary movies is a sort of preparation for the real thing real fear But for Reggie real fear is ust arachnophobia for example something real she can name So when she stumbles upon a mysterious ournal detailing the horrors of certain demonic beings called Vours that take over human bodies she dismisses it as a work of fiction But she can t deny the strange coincidence of her little brother Henry acting very strangely and after Sorry Night the only time that Vours can invade bodies And when Henry s behavior becomes erratic and destructive Reggie realizes that she had no idea what real fear was before because now she s living itThe Devouring is a suspenseful paranormal novel with elements of horror Its strongest point is by far its uniue plot which I found exciting original and unpredictable with its combination of mystery familiar problems and all encompassing fear The characters on the other hand are a bit hard to connect with even Reggie with her fierce determination She was a little too easily blinded by cute popular boys and seemed to be spooked easily despite her claims to have conuered her fears Another problem I have was that I often felt removed from the story despite vivid and horrifying details because it felt so unreal Part of this is due to how fast paced The Devouring is Reggie had to adapt almost too uickly sometimes it seemed to each new situation I am a little disappointed because thought The Devouring would ve each new situation I am a little disappointed because thought The Devouring would ve better but it is still an interesting read with a scientific twist to fearFans of Peeps and The Midnighters trilogy both by Scott Westerfeld and The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong will likely enjoy this intriguing readreposted from If you don t learn how to be scared you ll never really learn how to be braveWhat a fun little creepy story surprise I wasn t sure what I was getting in to I didn t read the book write up I ust check the cover and a few friend reviews and I was in I love reading horror so I was excited to give it a tryReggie is La mythologie selon Game of Thrones just your average girl she loves horror stories her little brother She s a fill in mom after their mom left She stumbles on aournal style story completely on accident The story describes a scary night for the kids and about Vours and fears and how they are tied togeth Normally I do not dig horror booksThis is not totally true I went through a brief John Saul phase in Jr High school I don t really dig gore and being scared out of my skin but this book is very goodWhat s good about it is the main character is extremely brave She faces up to her fears to help save her brother She isn t some wussy girl who needs to be rescued You don t I finished this book with an undecided feeling It was a good read and kept my interest I m not sure that I enjoyed it that much A very interesting concept about creatures that take over the body of R sanity Reggie enters a living nightmare to save the people she loves Can she devour own her fears before they devour herBone chilling terrifying thrilling what are you waiting

review Ê E-book, or Kindle E-pub ☆ Simon Holt

Regina Halloway loves scary stories She reads them compulsively she even works in a horror book store Sometimes she thinks she might be reading them to distract her from the truly scary things in her life like the fact that her mom ran out on them and they haven t heard from her in over a year or the fact that her her in over a year or the fact that her is and distant every day Or the fact that she is singlehandedly raising her little brother HenryBut mostly Reggie Golf by the Numbers just reads horror because she loves it And when she finds an oldournal called The Devouring she brings it home and reads it It tells of creatures called Vours that can attack people through their fears and then inhabit their bodies They come into our world on Sorry Night the eve of the winter solsticeNaturally Reggie and her best friend Aaron can t resist summoning the Vours on Sorry Night But they aren t the ones who are possessed instead Reggie s little brother Henry starts acting stranger and stranger until Reggie realizes that he s not Henry any he s something older and darker Something terrifyingTo save her brother Reggie will have to face her deepest fearsThe writing in this book is not strong and it nearly lost me with its clunkiness in the first couple of chapters It felt a little cliche and tired and I could predict exactly what would happenBut then the horror starts and damned if this book isn t scary It s truly terrifyingly scary At one point I almost had to stop reading and take a breathSo it s not a work of great literature What it is is a top notch teen horror novel Fans of Darren Shan will eat this upA warning though this book does have a satisfying ending it s the umping off point of a series and is open ended I definitly want to read This review can also be found on my blogBuddy read with AmyCW general scary scenes and abandonment by a parentThis is another rereadfinally finishing a series that I m taking part in And I am really glad that this book lived up to the hype I put in my brain This isn t a popular series In fact only three of my friends have read and rated this book Crazy right The Devouring follows a broken family Reggie is in high school and has to fill the role her mother had before she left the family Her Father Is A Workaholic is a workaholic she had a little brother Henry She goes to school cooks cleans takes care of her brother and also works at a bookstore At her ob she finds a weird ournal with an insane story about Sorry NightSorry Night is when the Vours can come into human bodies Vours are demonic beings that make people live their worst fearsReggie doesn t take the story seriously until she has toI read this book wayyy back in high school and I remember really enjoying it Enough that I found and bought all three books I don t remember reading the whole series but I must have since they re all rated by me on GoodreadsIt was a funny and creepy book I loved reading it in the mornings while I drink my coffee When I had to leave for practicum or work I couldn t wait until the next morning so I could pick it right back up The story was fun The characters were great And I can t wait to rediscover where the rest of the books take me OH MY GOOOOOOOSH I LOVE IT This book is amazing It got me hanging in every word and the description was so vivid that got me terrified with every nightmareThe vours are simply terrifying things that can get you if you get scary enough They take your body and send your soul to a terrible placeThe worse part is that nobody knows that you are missing because your body is still there but not your soulI get goose bumps ust thinking about itThe best scary book everThe Plot Bloody fantastic Its was what fi. When Reggie finds an old Liberty Arrives! journal and reads about the Vours supernatural creatures who feast on fear and attack on the eve of the winter solstice she assumes they areust the musi. ,
Rst got my attention well the second actually the first was this amazing cover LoL and it got me hooked to it till the cliffhanging end I can t say enough of how I enjoy its twists and totally new monsters that creeps the shadows looking for worm bodies to take over I can only imagine what twist mind would come up with such monsters It s got to be wonderfully
#twisted lol the #
LoL The Reggie is this addicted to scary stories and loves to feel the adrenaline that invades the body the minute you get scared out of your skin She is brave way too brave for her own good Her brother is the one I related the most I guess it s because you have the same unreasonable fear of clowns LoL Sorry but the person that said that they were funny have a mind twisted then mine And mine mind is way twisted believe meThe Writing Is in third person not much my taste but it s written in a way that I can still see trough Reggie s eyes I simply love the way that the writer describes the sounds and the fear and I could almost feel the cold bit my skin in the snow and listen to the baby s sound in the silent well you ve got the idea Describes things very well without being boringConsiderations The scary books never really got my attention and the books I ve read in the past was from Stephen king and I really like it but never give much chance for this genre of literature until The Devouring This book made me fall in love twisted and creepy love LoLJust one thing that I think is a miss so romance no kissing no noting I think it could had been of that in it I m a romantic after all LoLThis is me waiting to read the next book in the series I wouldn t classify myself as a fan of scary things I ve been afraid of the dark for as long as I can remember yes I am still afraid of the dark I do not like scary movies I happened to watch It the movie based on the novel of the same title by Steven King when I was in elementary school I don t think I slept for weeks and I still haven t been able to watch the movie again So when I grabbed a copy of the Devouring by Simon Holt and read the synopsis I have to admit I was a little scared to read itAnd it was scaryfreakysuspenseful But besides that it was a great novel Yes me scardy girl enjoyed reading a horror novel I can t really compare it to any other novels of that nature but I can say that I thought the plot was wonderfully crafted The whole concept of the Vours was masterful I hope I don t run in to any of those things on Sorry NightI also appreciated the fact that the novel kept the gruesome elements to a minimum Instead of being overkill the few mentions where actually an enhancement to the tale I m eagerly waiting to begin the next novel in this series YA Horror isn t in the same league with adult horror in the same league with Adult Horror I m not going to try and compare apples to carpet cleaner There s no pointThis was a really good teen horror story I wish I had been able to read it when I was younger because I m sure it would have been one of my favoritesThe breakdown of the story "Is That A Girl And "that a girl and best friend who happen to love all things scary get their hands on an old Mary Elizabeth Garrett journal that they believe to be someone s idea of aoke Maybe the first draft of a novel they were writing According to this book there are evil spirits who can enter and take over your body one night a year if you are frightened enough So in the tradition of Bloody Mary they call the spirits up as a oke Except they aren t scared Unfortunately the girl s little brother is in the houseand he is terrifiedTo adults who have been weaned on Stephen King there is nothing here that they probably haven t seen a million times before. Ngs of some lunatic author But soon they become a terrifying reality when she begins to suspect that her timid younger brother might be one of their victimsRisking her life and he. The Devouring